Apple mistakingly makes old iOS versions available, some users hop on and downgrade en masse

Apple has a history of rarely looking back on anything it has moved beynd — it won’t re-incorporate hardware that it has once removed, and it certainly won’t let you use older versions of its iOS once you’ve updated your device. In order for an iOS build to be installed on your iPhone, it needs to be “signed” by Apple’s servers. Usually, once a new version is out, the previous one will be signed for a couple of weeks, after which Apple pulls the plug on it entirely.

Yesterday, however, the company had a slight mishap and was signing multiple old versions of iOS …